The experience so far…

So my second week of the semester is coming to an end and I was feeling that this would be a good time to do a first recap of what my experience has been like so far.

…and already I’m lost for words. All my expectations have not only been reached but they have been surpassed by a long way. The experience of being a part of this community has really been a dream come true. Also the diversity of the student body, with a THIRD of the approx. 4500 students being international students, is simply incredible. Already I  connected with more people than I can count and we’ve been playing, jamming and rehearsing pretty much all the time.

Music really does connect people beyond cultural and social boundaries and life at Berklee is an incredibly communicative experience.

Also I couldn’t be happier with the bass teacher I got – Victor Bailey! This guy has been one of my main inspirations and a subject of my self studies for a number of years now and I am thrilled to have been granted the chance of being taught by him (if you don’t know him just look him up on google, his CV is really a sight to behold).

That’s not to say that there’s much time to relax. This college really doesn’t slouch when it comes to assigning homework and demanding being prepared for classes. This way of  teaching and studying however gets you really immersed in the matter and is so much different than what I experienced in Germany. Many classes take place 2-3 times a week with homework and preparation assignments every single time so time management is really an important factor here at Berklee. This, in my opinion, is a great way to prepare students for the life as a professional musician.

And that is something almost all the students here are aspiring to be – the drive and the passion here is just beyond everything I experienced so far and everyone I met so far is motivated to work very hard to achieve their personal goals.

What I am really happy about as well is that because I don’t have my studio duty here in the US I get to spend even more time working with my instrument and expanding my repertoire faster than I managed before. This also shows in the amount of videos I am uploading right now 😉

It truly feels like the place to be and I am excited for what the future here will bring!

Leave a Reply

